Godly Wisdom

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. James 1:5

TrainTrackThe older I get, the more I appreciate God’s wisdom. Godly wisdom was very abstract to me when I was a kid – a vague notion of God knowing. As I got older, I understood God’s wisdom was quite different from my own, and was always right. However it’s taken into my adult years to try to come to peace with the times His wisdom conflicts with my own imperfect “wisdom.”  I really struggle but have to say, I don’t get it, Lord, but I know Your way is best so I’ll obey.

If I can get past this struggle between wanting my way and knowing God and His wisdom are the best for me, and everyone, I can finally begin to appreciate this wise, all-knowing God. It’s a relief that life does not hinge on me and my wisdom! I absolutely hope I am becoming more wise each day, but any wisdom I’ve gained has entirely been God’s doing. I can’t boast at all about it. It’s usually been through hands-on, almost disastrous conclusions of my stubborn choices that help me see….I don’t know best but God does.

Earthly wisdom is like making decisions as we wander through an endless, pitch-black cavern with a teeny lit candle. It’s so limited. 95% is just assumptions and guesses fit together with the glue of pride. And who is in the center of earthly wisdom? Why ME of course. Everyone else’s purpose and value and meaning depends on how it all impacts ME. Ouch. It’s just impossible to really make good, loving, wise decisions without God. He is wisdom, perfect wisdom.

The thing is, many faithful Christians have died still not knowing why God had them do things the way He did. There’s no guarantee we will know all the whys here on this earth. But we can trust that one day, some day, eventually, God will show us and we will understand and whole-heartedly agree with what He chose. Will life lived by God’s wisdom always be fun? No. Always easy? Definitely not. Always logical to us? I wish. Always best? Absolutely.

We can trust God’s wisdom and pray diligently that He blesses us with wisdom as well. He wants to increase our wisdom and understanding here on earth. He wants us to make good decisions and offer good counsel to those around us. Don’t bother with all these paths over here, He says. They only lead to heartache and pain. Trust me, go this way with no regrets and absolute peace. Trust the Holy Spirit is leading  you and rely on every word in the Bible. 

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5–6

Leave a Reply

