Playing with Fire?

  For the Lord your God is a consuming fire, a  jealous God. Deuteronomy 4:24

N1609P25002CYou know, it’s ironic that we want God to be there for us. We love His faithfulness, loyalty, and steadfastness. But we don’t transfer that to how we should be toward Him. True, God doesn’t need us, and we do need Him. But, we often put no real value or seriousness in our faithfulness to Him.

Our pride nudges us to demand life be our way, with our rules and on our terms. It is nearly impossible to figure out where God is supposed to fit in our hearts, when our hearts are overflowing with ourselves. He’s not ok with that obviously. Jeremiah 29:13 says “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” We are God’s creation, His children, and we are always meant to be seeking Him and wholeheartedly obeying Him.

Is God only an option for me when I am in dire need? Is He just a back-up life jacket I throw in the shed when I get back from sailing? Or a great parachute I sometimes really appreciate? I remember Him easily when I’m grieving, or ill, or anxious – then God gets my attention. I can be a better friend to God. I can love Him better, no question. My determination or strength won’t accomplish this, but the Holy Spirit in me can accomplish this, and more!

I am very happy God loves me. But He wants my heart completely! He wants me to put Him first in every circumstance and seek His dreams over my own dreams. The Bible says in Deuteronomy 4:24 “For the Lord your God is a consuming fire, a jealous God.” The jealousy He has for us is right and pure and deserved. He is absolutely holy and set apart and deserving of our complete obedience and love.

Were it not for the blood of His Only Son, Jesus, that covers our sin, we would have been burned up long ago in the holiness of God. But, praise God, Jesus did make a way for us to be forgiven and brought back into a relationship with God.

God’s heart for us, His nature is to be OUR EVERYTHING. Forget the life jacket or parachute…

God is our air.

That’s a much better analogy. In our stubbornness and pride we still try to fight Him. We still are tempted to say back to Him, “Fine, I’ll just use this oxygen tank and I’ll figure out a way to do it myself.” It’s time to give this foolishness up.

What we are looking at is this amazing, all-powerful consuming fire, God Almighty, that we are able to be in because of Jesus’ blood. God is not a cute campfire we can splash a bucket of water on and leave. He’s so powerful and mighty, we cannot even look at Him or we would instantly die. Somehow we need to tie in His amazing love, that we love to think about, with His amazing holiness, which makes Him entirely unapproachable without Christ.

This is the God that adores us and wants our undivided attention 24/7. This is the God that created each person and loves them more than we will ever understand. This is the God that made us to have perfect communion with Him over anyone or anything else. Our resounding answer should be, YES GOD! HERE I AM! DO WITH ME AS YOU LIKE!

Leave a Reply

