A Piece of Cake? Sure!

Galatians 5:16 But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh. 17 For the desires of the flesh are against the Spirit, and the desires of the Spirit are against the flesh, for these are opposed to each other, to keep you from doing the things you want to do. 18 But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the law.




I really wish that when we became Christians, God just completely removed our sinful nature discussed in these verses. The constant struggle between this sinful nature and our new, redeemed selves, just gets really old. Thankfully, as these versus explain, we can live by the Spirit, and as we immerse ourselves in who God is, the sinful nature gets starved and loses some power. We can live victorious lives with a heart of peace. We can know God increasingly more. Isn’t that an amazing gift in itself considering mankind’s choice to disobey God?!!


Yet, it’s still so difficult.

Most of us can probably relate to a food analogy. Being a Christian sometimes feels like making a resolution to eat well so we can feel good, and be strong and healthy, while a luscious cake sits right behind us. Chocolate, of course. I don’t have to focus on that stupid cake. I can focus on reality, the delicious tastes of the Godly, wholesome food before me. I can focus on how great I feel eating well. I can focus on how I’m probably going to live a longer and fuller life eating well. I can really enjoy the flavors and complexities of this wholesome Godly food. I can vow to never look behind me and talk myself into believing I can’t stand chocolate or cake. Eventually, sure, the cake can be pretty far behind me.

But, here on earth, until Christ returns and we finally live knowing what it’s like to be completely holy and righteous people…the cake is still there. I’m just tired today of this whole battle between natures competing for my attention. I’m glad God makes a way for us to be victorious. I’m glad we can daily lean on him and find an undivided heart that thirsts for him alone. He is so good to us and has so much mercy and grace!

I just wish the struggle didn’t have to be. I wish cake truly held no appeal. But, like it or not, we were all born with a “sweet tooth.” And this is just a battle that we need to ask God to fight with us until Jesus’ return. It’s the effect of mankind’s choice to sin way back in the Garden of Eden. Praise God, it’s only these 100 or less years before we can look forward to a different reality in heaven. The battle does end! There is so much we can look forward to. Thank you, God!!

One thought on “A Piece of Cake? Sure!

Leave a Reply

