So, God….What’s the Plan?

ToDoI find I am always coming back to this question. That’s how I naturally live my life, after all.

I plan

so I can prepare

so I can be successful.

Sometimes it drives me crazy that God’s plans often seem so mysterious and unobtainable to me. If I don’t know the plan, how can I prepare, and then won’t I fail? Only on my own…not together with God! He knows everything about all eternity. He knows my next thought, and what will happen today at 5:23 p.m. and every single second of every single day of every single life. He exists in the past, present and future simultaneously, not in the constructs of time. In everything, He is in absolute control. Nothing about our world or the future overwhelms Him. He is all-knowing and all-powerful.

So, why do I feel so clueless all of the time!!

I’ve come to realize, I don’t think it’s accidental! And, maybe I don’t mind it as much as I used to.

God arranges life as our daily tour guide, an amazing one I might add, but I find He doesn’t seem to give us a daily itinerary. My only option is to trust Him continually, to come back to Him to find out what’s next…a lot!  I wake up and say,

“What will we do today, Lord?”

What would we do if God did give us a play-by-play schedule and a plan for our whole lives up front. I hate to say it, but I think I would thank Him for the schedule and probably say, “I’ll be in touch” and who knows when I’d be back. It’s in our own best interest that God keeps us close and absolutely reliant on Him. I think it takes that level of dependence on Him to keep my attention and focus on Him. I admit, I can easily wander. Like the hymn, “Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing” rightly says,

Let Thy goodness, like a fetter,
Bind my wandering heart to Thee.
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
Seal it for Thy courts above.

It’s not true though, that God gives us no plan. That’s exactly what the Bible is…the history of God as He relates to man and what we can expect in the future. I don’t have to say,

I wonder what is important to God,

because it’s right there in black and white in the Bible. What matters to God is that He is glorified as He should be and that we know we were made by and for Him. His plan is that we love Him first and foremost, and love people next. It’s just that when sin entered the picture in the first few pages of the Bible, the whole story became much more complicated and costly.

God is altogether good and we can trust Him absolutely. Never once has he screwed up or had a melt-down and lashed out at us with insults and hurtful words. Nor will He slam the door in our face when we come to Him for help. He is kind and has more patience than we will ever know. And He is always faithful! He promises us He’ll never leave us or forsake us and He never will, not even once. We can rely on Him for all we need, and know He will take care of us and direct our paths.

Leave a Reply

