A Prayer For Peace

Philippians 4:7 And the peace of God which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

I need your peace, Lord. Everything in me seems bent toward chaos and anxiousness. If left unchecked, my thoughts plummet, my heart becomes restless, my spirit troubled.
There’s a plateau of peace high above these earthly goings – on where peace reigns. You invite me there. I’m still just as involved with this life, but there my heart is protected, my mind set on you, my spirit at peace. That’s where I long to dwell, Lord. Thank you that you guard my heart and keep it from crazy highs and lows that end up making me feel nauseous and out of control.

Life is crazy quite often, and circumstances unpredictable, but inwardly, my heart can be solidly grounded in you – my unchanging, all powerful, sovereign Lord. Your affections for me and opinions of me don’t change. You created me with love and purpose. You know every fault and weakness I have, but none of them surprise you or change your love for me.

I am broken and weak and powerless. But, there you meet me, Lord. Together with you, I am no longer any of these things. I am complete, equipped and full of hope.

2 thoughts on “A Prayer For Peace

  1. AMEN sister!
    What a comfort the promise of Heaven is (an eternity with our creator and savior) and what a PEACE we are given through the holy spirit within us, which never leaves us.
    I love the way this verse says to “fan into flame”!!! 2 Timothy 1:6-7
    “For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands. For God has not given us a spirit of timidity, but of power, love, and self-control.”
    *NIV version…For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.
    *KJV version…For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.
    I love that God knows us so well and gives us a sound mind through HIS spirit because our own has become corrupted flesh, ill with sin. How refreshing it is to cling to the Truth that our mind is sharp and sound when we turn to His ways, His truth. I love these scriptures as well…
    Isaiah 11:2
    The Spirit of the LORD will rest on Him, The spirit of wisdom and understanding, The spirit of counsel and strength, The spirit of knowledge and the fear of the LORD.
    John 14:27
    Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled; do not be afraid.
    Romans 8:15
    For you did not receive a spirit of slavery that returns you to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for sharing, Rachel! I agree, the fact that God gives us the Holy Spirit allows us to have peace throughout our lives. Such a gift! I love these verses!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

