Heart Care

We Need It 24/7

kidandcarsHeart care is an ongoing, minute by minute need of ours. It would be nice if we accepted Christ as Savior, then forever continued on that path with no detours or speed bumps. It really doesn’t work that way. Sin causes up to zip along like a car with unaligned wheels. Without God’s Hand on the steering wheel, we’re just not going to go straight. Likely we will crash. We can give our hearts to God and know He does save us but sin doesn’t just disappear. Jeremiah 17:9 says “The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure. Who can understand it.

Our hearts continually need God’s filling and correction to stay on course.

When we decide to try the “Look God, no hands!” game, we risk so much. Our hearts need to be tended and guarded all of the time. It really does take effort and resolve to live life well. Jeremiah 29:13 reminds us it isn’t half-hearted seeking that God honors. He wants all our efforts and care and concern set on seeking him. Then he gives us our daily and eternal reward – Himself!

God is our goal and prize.

He’s not just a means to get other things. We don’t say, God, I love you …now can I be rich?

Parents understand that technique very well! I love you mom… now can I have $20? Sure dad, I can’t wait to learn that – can it be after I go to the movies (the next 3 months)? If earthly parents can spot deception that easily, can’t God? Yes, God, I will pray, but can it be after I win the lottery? Sure God, we’ll meet…I know I have an opening next month.

Let this be our daily, hourly cry –

Psalm 139:23–24 Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Hebrews 4:12 For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double edge sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

Leave a Reply

